If the content you are seeing is presented as unstyled HTML your browser is an older version that cannot support cascading style sheets. If you wish to upgrade your browser you may download Mozilla or Internet Explorer for Windows.

Dora Mavor Moore Awards

CTE photo
The logo for the 1996 Dora Mavor Moore Awards

Awards created in 1979 and given annually to theatre productions and artists presented in Toronto, Ontario, during the previous year. The "Doras" are named after theatre artist, Dora Mavor Moore and administered by the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts.

As of 2018/19, after an extensive consultation with the theatre community, TAPA changed the format and initiated "gender neutral" awards in seven divisions: General Theatre, Musical Theatre, Opera,Independent Theatre, Theatre for Young Audiences, Dance, and Touring Division. Specific awards are given in each division (except for "Touring"). For example, the awards for the "General Theatre Division" are for Outstanding New Play, Production, Direction, Performance in a Leading Role (with 8 Nominees), Performance in a Featured Role (with 8 Nominees), Scenic/Projection Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design, Sound Design/Composition. For the Opera Division, the awards are for Outstanding New Opera (MINIMUM of 3 registrations to proceed), Production, Direction, Musical Direction, Performance of an Individual (with 8 Nominees), Performance of an Ensemble (with 8 Nominees), Scenic/ Projection Design, Costume Design, and Lighting Design.

Some winners of the awards have been: Jim Betts, Doris Petrie, Robert Thomson, Djanet Sears, Leslie Frankish, Robert Lepage, Heath Lamberts, Susan Benson, Ereca Hassell, Brent Carver,Drew Hayden Taylor, Guillermo Verdecchia, Sue LePage, Phillip Silver, Paul Thompson, Allan Stratton, Daniel MacIvor, John Krizanc and Tomson Highway.

The awards are given out at a gala ceremony.

Website: tapa.ca/dora-awards

Last updated 2019-02-21