If the content you are seeing is presented as unstyled HTML your browser is an older version that cannot support cascading style sheets. If you wish to upgrade your browser you may download Mozilla or Internet Explorer for Windows.

Playwrights Guild of Canada

Organization for the promotion of Canadian works.

It began life as the Playwrights Circle (1971) with the mandate to ensure that Canadian plays were not forgotten.

In 1972 it became Playwrights Co-op and began publishing Canadian works. The Co-op also handled the amateur rights for its works and organized tours of writers to readings and cabarets.

In 1979, the Co-op became Playwrights Canada. In 1977, a number of its members founded the Guild of Canadian Playwrights to lobby, negotiate and improve the status of Canadian playwrights here and abroad.

In 1984, the Co-op and Guild merged to become the Playwights Union of Canada (PUC). In 2002, the name of the organization was changed to Playwrights Guild of Canada. which now negotiates with Professional Association of Canadian Theatres/PACT, prints a newsmagazine, publishes plays, produces a catalogue and maintains a web site.

The publishing imprint of the Guild, Playwrights Canada Press, had grown significantly and was incorporated as a for-profit publishing company in 2002.

Past presidents of the Guild include Clem Martini, Vern Thiessen, Hope McIntyre, Shirley Barrie, Elyne Quan, Conni Massing, and David S. Craig. The current president is Alicia Payne. Robin Sokoloski is Executive Director.

The organization's archives are at the L.W. Conolly Theatre Archives of the University of Guelph, Ontario.

Website: www.playwrightsguild.ca

Last updated 2018-02-04