If the content you are seeing is presented as unstyled HTML your browser is an older version that cannot support cascading style sheets. If you wish to upgrade your browser you may download Mozilla or Internet Explorer for Windows.

Playwrights' Workshop

Play development organization in Montréal, Quebec, founded in 1963. Among the founders were Dan Daniels, Carol Libman, Aviva Ravel, Norma Springford, Walter Massey, Victor Knight, Justice Rinfret and Guy Beaulne. Bob White was the organization's first artistic director. Other artistic directors have been Per Brask, Michael Springate, Brian Richmond, Michael Devine, Peter Smith and Paula Danckert. From 2008 to 2021, the AD was Emma Tibaldo.

The Workshop now takes in over 200 scripts per year from across the nation while providing development assistance to over 50 plays per year. It also employs directors, actors and dramturgs fluent in at least two languages. Since its founding, it has assisted with the plays of George F. Walker, Sheldon Rosen, Carol Bolt, Jovette Marchessault, Tomson Highway, and Maryse Pelletier among many others.

Works are presented in a variety of ways from staged readings to public readings of excerpts. The company also participates in various joint programs with the Centre des auteurs dramatiques, including translation programs.

Website: www.playwrights.ca

Last updated 2021-07-28